Miss(ed) Manners

June 27, 2008

Seemingly Unrelated

Filed under: Humor — missedmanners @ 10:30 pm

Last night I went out drinking.

I’d had a super mega ridiculously bad week at work and needed to drown my vocational sorrows under pints of vodka and the leers of bow legged women.

For the mot part it worked. I’m definitely happier today, but that’s besides the issue. I witnessed a bizarre little vignette last night.

I was sitting in a McDonald’s, half-timing between bars, and I saw first the most multi-culti little group of gay boys ever.They were like the UN of mo-ness. Cute.

But behind them in the window I saw a hipster wearing a scarf.

It was ninety fucking degrees last night. And it wasn’t even a little scarf, it was long. Like seventies era Dr. Who long. Argh it made me so angry for some reason. It’s summer! Leave your Billyburg passport in the bathroom with your stepped on coke and over tattooed girlfriend. She wont notice you’re gone.

While I was kvetching silently, another person passed my field of view. An old man. He looked just like my late grandfather. He was alone and in a McDonalds.

Where was this man’s family? Maybe I was just feeling pointlessly nostalgic for Pop. Surely not all old men have bouncing grandchildren affixed to their knees. Maybe he was an eighty five year old bachelor getting some eats before hitting the clubs in search of a snizz.

Then again, maybe he was every bit the lonely octegenarian he seemed to be. Maybe he sat at the same molded orange and tan feeding slab every night in the hopes that someone would accidentally drop their bag near him and strike up a spontaneous conversation, freeing him at least momentarily from the smothering loneliness that living in such close proximity to millions can breed.

I hoped he was on his way to APT instead.

2 Comments »

  1. I hate seeing old people by themselves. For some reason, it makes me very sad. They just look so lonely as if there’s no one left on this earth who cares about them anymore. What’s the point of living if you’re going to be alone, constantly longing for the days you were young and loved.

    Great post. It really touched me.

    Comment by Colette — June 28, 2008 @ 12:09 am | Reply

  2. I live next door to a coop building with its own in-house restaurant. It seems most of the residents are in the grandparent age group. The dining room of the restaurant usually has a mix of frail old men and blue-haired women each eating alone slumped over their food. It is a heartbreaking view.

    I’ve learned the hard way that there is a 90% probability that the reason they are eating alone is that they are mean-spirited, whining curmudgeons. But on the rare occasion a person surfaces who is delightful, an interesting conversationalist, well-read, well-traveled and witty. Sometimes tossed into alone-ness by the death of a spouse. They are a treat to find and befriend.

    Comment by David — June 28, 2008 @ 12:21 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

