Miss(ed) Manners

May 14, 2008

First and Ten

Filed under: Humor — missedmanners @ 11:54 pm

This weekend is my ten year high school reunion.

I literally have no idea what to expect. My school was small, really small. We didn’t have popular kids, per se, or nerdy kids, really. There aren’t any girls that I can think of that I can even remember or would have planned over the last ten years to gradually tailor my appearance so that I might have the chance at bedding her and finally overcoming the friend zone, like romantic comedies tell me I can.

Truthfully, high school was a bit of a blur for me. We were really really fucking busy, and when we weren’t busy we were drunk or high. I know for a fact that there are at least six people who’s names I won’t remember, because I’ve seen them on the train home to Albany and I’ve dodged out sight because I had no clue who they are other than that we sat next to each other at graduation.

That bit of truth might be funny if my class didn’t consist of forty people.

For most of my friends, high school is what defined them. Either they took their confidence from being part of the “cool” group and used that to power them through college, or they took their angst at not being part of the “cool” group and used that to remake themselves in college into a new, cooler version of themselves.

It seems to me that people are either reliving the glory days or telling me how much they had to overcome since they suffered so much at people living gloriously.

Not me. We were all kind of cool. At a school that small, you kind of have to be friends with everyone or your parties will suck. But since the hormones bouncing around your balls like a four year old on meth in a Chuck E. Cheese demand blood, you had to pick on someone. So we picked on everyone.

I do wonder if anyone’s got kids. That might weird me out a little. Among my classmates, there are none that I would consider good father material, myself included. I mean, I used to shotgun a joint and then play dickpunch with these guys, how is that behavior worthy of reproduction?

Hair loss? Weight gain? Debilitating coke habit brought on by reckless teen-aged behavior?

None of that really interests me.  I’m pretty sure I look about the same as when I graduated… though isn’t that part of knowing someone? That they always look the same to you depending on your perceived image of them? So then why do people always diet before reunions? If you come off like a fat fuck, people are going to see you as a fat fuck no matter how little bread you eat.

Really, the only thing that interests me, as always, is me.

I’m curious to see if I’ve changed at all and the people I’m going to see this weekend will definitely be able to tell me.

3 Comments »

  1. While my 1000 student high school and my 335 person graduating class is far from your experience, I enjoyed my 10th reunion….somewhat. During my high school years, I was a bit of a nerd who hung out with the smart crowd even though I couldn’t and wouldn’t play chess and I was wearing coke-bottle-bottom glasses.

    I realized when I got to the reunion that my smarty-pants friends didn’t come home for the event and the people I only knew in passing couldn’t recognize me with contacts and a mustache I still have many years later. And I had a smokin’ hot date for which I have no explanation to this day.

    The highlight was standing at a urinal in the mens room during the “big dance” event when I overheard two guys at the sinks discussing who they thought had changed the most and I was it. Sweet.

    Comment by conundrum — May 17, 2008 @ 6:48 pm | Reply

  2. So I did this thing the other night. It was fun but turnout was super low, which really kind of upset me. Everyone was cool, we got crazy drunk at some bar and wandered around Albany with everyone in tow. It was good times.

    What was sad was constantly being reminded that I’ve completely abandoned illustration and painting by everyone I talked to who just assumed I’d be doing it professionally.
    :-/

    Comment by missedmanners — May 19, 2008 @ 12:12 am | Reply

  3. I’ve never been to any of my reunions and honestly don’t give a rat’s ass to go. I could barely stand half the people I graduated with anyway. There’s been a fews contacts made a long the way, but none that really stuck. I’m curious about a few folk, but still not enough to really consider going to a reunion. I was friends with upperclass men and I’m still cool with some of them.

    Love!

    Comment by blujewel — May 19, 2008 @ 3:36 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

