Miss(ed) Manners

May 3, 2007

The Worstest

Filed under: Worstest — missedmanners @ 10:41 am

A quick follow up to yesterday’s post: I grew up in the country and we never locked our doors. Hell, my parents don’t even have KEYS to their house. It exists in a permanent state of openness which I guess fits considering how open their hearts are (that one’s for you Mom, sorry I haven’t been home in a while).

Actually, funny story: The only time the doors at my house were ever locked was when we went on a family vacation for a week. We came home and of course had lost the keys. We had to break into our own house. This involved crawling through an already open, waist level window. After that, the house was never locked again, it just didn’t make any sense. I guess that background is what makes me so angry about locked doors.

Anyway, in reference to this post’s title today I’m the Worstest.

Last night on the subway I made a serious mental mistake and I’ve been belittling myself internally over it ever since. Let me explain: I was riding up to go meet my friend Sunshine for our semi-weekly Lost date and at the Brooklyn Bridge station a group of kids got on next to me. Now these guys looked to be about high school or early college age, definitely urban sounding and looking. Two of them were Latino and two were Black. One of them, a tall, skinny guy with a pulled back half afro, was talking about an ankle injury he’d just endured.  Upon closer inspection I noticed it looked like they all were in athletic clothing and it started to sound like they’d just come from a practice of some kind. Another one of the kids started talking about how he wasn’t getting enough height on his vertical.

As the train pulled into the Union Square station I overheard one of them mention their coach and then another brought up their next upcoming CCNY Volleyball match.

So here’s where I was the Worstest. I had definitely assumed that they were talking about Basketball based almost entirely on their mode of dress, speech and honestly, their cultural background. A good reminder to never ever assume anything about anyone, especially in New York. I felt like such a dick😆

2 Comments »

  1. you may be a dick (your words), but at least you were man enough to admit your error in judgement. Bigups to you for that.

    Comment by BluJewel — May 17, 2007 @ 2:17 pm | Reply

  2. Well I’m always the first person to admit when I’m being an idiot. Though it’s usually a tight race with those around me.

    Comment by missedmanners — May 21, 2007 @ 1:20 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

