Miss(ed) Manners

April 5, 2007

The Perfect Match

Filed under: Silly — missedmanners @ 9:44 am

So over at Rhythmism.com we’d sparked up a discussion re: Online Dating and Match.com’s new tagline, “It’s okay to look.” In my mind this is sending all kinds of wrong messages, but whatever. In terms of the sanctity of American romantic relationships people are always looking to better deal their mate, it’s just the way this country works. I’ve never understood the idea, always trying to make the best situation out of generally shitty ones, but hey, some people were raised to want richer, better looking mates. I actually wear it as a badge of honor that three out of four of my major ex’s married their next boyfriend. That’s a 75% pre-penultimate-best-deal rating. I’ve been thinking of changing my last name to Q-School.

But I digress.

Eventually we got the idea to put together a profile from our conjoined wisdom, both male and female (but definitely mostly female), to make the perfect online dating profile. A very handsome gay friend of ours from San Francisco offered up his pictures for use.

Now, if you’ve ever made a Match.com profile you know that they take FOREVER. I mean there are like four billion questions. So answering by committee took us all day and we still weren’t done. It’s an ongoing project and once it’s complete I’ll be sure to keep you guys updated. We’re not sending anyone on any dates or anything, we just want to see the reaction to what we perceive to be the world’s greatest man.

I also just wanted to share that at some point late yesterday afternoon some of the women got tired of all the questions saying:

“He’s starting to sound annoying.”

“He’s the perfect man, he doesn’t need to answer all these questions.”

Typical. The perfect man doesn’t need to fill out all these questions because he’s perrrrrrrrfect.

😀

PS: The man we’re making is turning out exactly like every one of the girls’ gay best friends. Who’da thunk that Will and Grace had more to it than neo-minstrel stereotypes?

PPS: On day two of Operation Perfect Match quite a few of the ladies have already lost interest in making Mr. Right. Hahaha.

2 Comments »

  1. Do we get to see the profile when it is done? I cannot imagine what a group conspiracy perfect man will be like but I am a little scared.

    Comment by max — April 7, 2007 @ 6:28 pm | Reply

  2. Well, as I’m about to leave for a week of work, it’s being put on a slight hold. There’s even been some calls for me to just write out the whole thing a la my “Mostest Eligible Bachelors” style of man.

    Which I think I’m going to do anyway.

    Comment by missedmanners — April 9, 2007 @ 2:49 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

