Miss(ed) Manners

November 7, 2006

Woo Hoo!

Filed under: Employment,Ramblings,Random,Tired,Work — missedmanners @ 2:07 pm

Another fall, another giant event successfully completed and I’m more spent than a wad of dollar bills at a strip club on two dollar lap dance night. For those of you who don’t know I’m an event planner. Myself and my small band of coworkers, bosses, volunteers and trained apes plan and execute large scale hospitality events for certain other large events.

With my fall busy season coming to a quick end I should be able to get back to being updated every day, which is a good thing, if only in terms of my fingers sorely needing to get back into shape. I have fat, chubby fingers right now. Like sausages filled with words.

I couldn’t be happier with how things went this year. First of all, I got put up in the most swank hotel room I’ve ever had in all of my five years of doing this. Central Park South, 36th floor. As I was getting up every morning before sunrise to get ready, this was the view that greeted me:

 hotel-image.jpg

So um, yeah, that was nice.

Like I just said a few times, things went really well this year. Well enough that there are no lawsuits pending, no injuries being treated and no contracts under revision. As anyone who’s in this business can tell you, that’s huge. The thing about throwing large events is that no matter how much meticulous planning you do, you’re ultimately at the mercy of fate and coincidence when it comes to how the event will actually run.

You may have spent hours carefully planning out a time line, job assignments and delivery checklists but when the time comes the only thing you can count on is that something will inevitably go horribly wrong. There are always issues, fires, things missing or boxes falling on people, etc.

That’s all I really wanted to say today, which can be summed up in the following sentence: I slept in a swank fucking hotel all weekend, worked from 6am to 12 midnight every day, soon I will have thin fingers.

4 Comments »

  1. you have to invite me to one of your events. I’ll come for real.

    Comment by BluJewel — November 8, 2006 @ 1:46 pm | Reply

  2. May I just say again how very glad I am that this event has passed? 🙂 So happy to have my baby back!

    Comment by Eileen — November 8, 2006 @ 4:12 pm | Reply

  3. I am just reading through your archives and have been very impressed so far! SW of Wide Lawns links to you, and because I esteem her highly, I had to check it out. I have not been disappointed! Especially when I saw the ridiculouly massive candy recreation of Helm’s Deep. Wow.

    Anyway, I just discovered in this post that you are an event planner! I almost peed myself when I read that! (Almost, but didn’t. Don’t worry.)

    I am, at this very moment, going to school to become an event planner. I have a BA in English, but that really is going nowhere, so I decided to take business and follow in your esteemed footsteps!

    That said, Mr. Missed Manners, could you please pass on any advice you have for a young aspiring event planner/promoter? And better yet, can you please post lots and lots of stories about it?

    Thanks!!!
    JM.

    Comment by just me — January 16, 2007 @ 3:42 am | Reply

  4. JM:

    Well, to be honest, I try to keep my blog as work-information free as possible. Some of the events I handle are very large and very high profile, and I’d hate hate hate for anything I say to be construed as being negative or taken the wrong way.

    That being said, general information and advice about being an EP? Be flexible. Be used to fires, because that will be your real job. See, anyone can plan an event of any size. You can spend months detailing out every nook and cranny of a space and then when the night/day of the party comes the only thing you can really count on is something going wrong. It always will, and it will be large. You won’t have a bathroom, you won’t have power, you wont have staff, you won’t have food.

    Realize that that’s what you’re actually going to be doing. If you can handle things like that, remain calm and make quick decisions, that’s all you need to know. Everything else falls into place.🙂

    Thanks!
    -MM

    PS: I’m getting an alt email set up in the next couple of days for questions like this, with a new page, so if you want some more info or advice, you’ll be able to hit me up there.

    Comment by missedmanners — January 16, 2007 @ 12:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

