Miss(ed) Manners

August 30, 2006

Why Wednesday?

Filed under: Humor,Life,Personal,Stolen Ideas,Why? — missedmanners @ 3:20 pm

The title for this post was shamelessly stolen from Bluejewel over at Is it Just Me?, one of the more than awesome blogs I read. Having been busy all week and completely uninspired, I saw her post of the same name and it got me in a real Wednesday type of introspective staring out the window at rain droplets and considering mid-afternoon drinking sort of mood.

Here are my “why’s.”
Why did NBC jump the shark with the show Ed and let Carol Vessey and Ed get together? Once the show was canceled WEDnesday was never the same. Where can I go for snarky dialog and the smooth as silk on screen persona of Tom Cavanaugh? His house? They won’t let me near there anymore.

Why do people putter around the end of a telephone conversation tossing in little “hmm’s” and “okay’s” just so that you can say, “bye” at the same time? It’s not a hostage exchange, I trust you to hang up the phone.

Why do I have a soft spot for the type of poppy adult contemporary that will ultimately be playing when my headphones accidentally become disconnected from my phone/mp3 player and blare it into a crowded subway car?

Why is that I get a billion boner pill spam messages every day? Does something about my online persona scream impotence?

Why do people stand at the top of stairs? Don’t they know that I’m just a few stopped-strides from going Ong Bak: Thai Warrior on them and sending them careening downwards with a flying knee-strike to the neck nape?

Why can’t the world recognize this man for the danger he is? He must be stopped.

Why do people press an already lit elevator button? Are there elevator gnomes who’ll say, “Oh shit, three button presses on elevator bank six! We better get moving, Mervin.”

What am I going to do for dinner tonight? Shit. Nevermind.

Why do I have recurring dreams of Saved By the Bell starring me and former Secretary of State Madeline Albright?

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Dave…Thanks for the plug and I’m flattered that you “stole” my blog titles. Talk about a nice compliment. Anyway, my posting for Why Wednesday was inspired by pretty much the same mood you were in. It was one of those things where I was thinking and I starting asking Why? There were plenty more I could have posted, but thought better of it as not to become redundant. I too loved Ed and was saddened at its ending. I’ve often asked “why does it take an act of Congress for people to hang up the phone?” I mean is it really that hard to let go? Doubt it! Man, you and I are certainly vibing cause I’ve always had the fantasy of kicking someone down the damn stairs (lol). You don’t like Benjamin Bratt? What’s up with that? I’ve had the elevator question run through my mind too many times to recall. Any Saved By The Bell dreams are FRIGHTENING!

    One Why, that I didn’t ask…”Why are people fond of interactive software, yet they never interact with humans?”

    Comment by BluJewel — August 31, 2006 @ 6:05 am | Reply

  2. Your Why Wednesday was a great way to start Thursday; very funny, and also all too true. Here’s one of mine (can I ask why on Thursday?): Why has every politician in Indiana apparently decided that recorded phone calls are the ultimate way to reach voters? We must get three of these a week. If we aren’t here, the recording will drone on until it gets to the end of the answering machine’s time limit. If we answer, then we hang up as soon as we hear the jovial voice say, “This is a message from Representative So-and-So….” Does anyone really sit and listen to a recording of a politician talking about how great they are? (Or, if they do, how sad and empty is that person’s life?) And how much are all these recordings and phone calls costing me in tax dollars? Tell you what: They can send me a coupon for a gallon of gas, instead, and then I might listen.

    Comment by tiffanytaylor — August 31, 2006 @ 8:09 am | Reply

  3. Blu:😀
    Can’t really talk about the Benjamin Bratt thing, it’s a matter of National Security.

    Also, being a video game dork of immense proportions, I’d have to say that software is so appealing because when it tells you about its day, it doesn’t whine about broken nails or traffic jams, it usually talks about Dragons and guns and magic and stuff, and that’s exciting.

    Tiffany:
    Recorded phone calls have stood the test of time, they originated in the Greek city states around 500 BCE with crude dictophone-like technology, though they usually involved orgies and mass wine-consumption, so you can understand the difference in effectiveness.

    Comment by missedmanners — August 31, 2006 @ 11:09 am | Reply

  4. LOL good questions man. Interesting. Too bad I really don’t have good answers for them. about the elevator thing tho i really believe that it helps the people who are in a hurry menatlly beleive that by pressing the button again and again they might be able to hurry up those gnomes into coming down or up faster for them…

    Comment by dragonsvamp — September 4, 2006 @ 5:42 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

